A 43-year-old yoga teacher who wants to sleep better and spend less time online – Health News Today

WELCOME TO HOW I Live, a new wellness diary series on TheJournal.ie.

We’re asking readers to keep a record of their mental and physical routines every day for one week – what their stress levels are like, how much activity they fit in (or don’t fit in), and how much sleep they get.

Each wellness diary is submitted by readers just like you. When reading and commenting, bear in mind that this is simply an account of a week in someone’s shoes, and their situation may not be relatable for everyone.

If you’re interested in submitting your own How I Live diary, email [email protected] with your name, age, location and a few lines about your current health and wellness goals.

This week, we hear from a Dublin yoga teacher as she delivers online classes, celebrates her birthday with a takeaway or two, and tries to get a handle on her sleep routine.

Occupation: Yoga teacher
Age: 43
Location: Dublin
Who you live with: My husband and our dog

I recently qualified as a yoga teacher. Due to the pandemic I mainly teach yoga online, to clients in Ireland, the UK and Europe. I spend a lot of time on business admin and marketing so when not on the yoga mat, I am on the laptop or phone. I’ll usually do that work from the couch or lying on my bed – with a partner also working from home, desk space is not easy to come by. There is a perception that I must be super-fit and super-healthy, but I am not, and I think it would be a little boring if I was!

Daily activity levels: I am usually pretty active five or six days out of seven, and have one day where I might be completely wrecked. As a yoga teacher, I teach anything between four and eight yoga classes a week. I also take yoga classes myself, go to the gym, run and sea swim depending on the week.
Daily stress levels: These vary depending on the day. Finances usually stress me out the most, as do family issues, like not being able to visit elderly relatives due to Covid. 
Eating/drinking habits: I am a vegetarian who eats as plant-based a diet as possible, so some days I am 100% vegan. I have a large appetite though – and eating mostly plant based doesn’t mean I don’t eat junk food occasionally! 
Sleep quality: From time to time I’ll go through phases of waking up at 3 or 4am every night. At the moment my main sleep issue is quality of sleep. I often feel exhausted even when I just woke up! I use pillow sprays and a nature sounds app to fall asleep.
Self-care: I prioritise self-care as I soon see the negative effects if I don’t. I aim for about 7,000 steps a day and most of those are taken outside. I use my yogic tools too – meditation and breathwork are great I’m stressed.

Tuesday

Morning: I have a hospital appointment first thing, so I am up before 6.30am and eating my pre-prepared overnight oats. I slept fine but I hate waking before 7am, that half hour seems to play havoc with my energy levels. I feel fairly tired all day and develop a…